Ask Your Question
0

can it be a problem? warning: /etc/shadow created as /etc/shadow.rpmnew

asked 2015-03-31 05:48:28 -0600

Deval gravatar image

updated 2015-11-10 22:31:45 -0600

mether gravatar image

and two more during the upgrade...

warning: /usr/lib/jvm/java-1.8.0-openjdk-1.8.0.31-5.b13.fc21.x86_64/jre/lib/security/local_policy.jar saved as /usr/lib/jvm/java-1.8.0-openjdk-1.8.0.31-5.b13.fc21.x86_64/jre/lib/security/local_policy.jar.rpmsave warning: /etc/cups/cups-browsed.conf created as /etc/cups/cups-browsed.conf.rpmnew

edit retag flag offensive close merge delete

1 Answer

Sort by ยป oldest newest most voted
1

answered 2015-03-31 08:08:03 -0600

cobra gravatar image

updated 2015-03-31 08:09:30 -0600

This happens because the default users may have changed. Your old /etc/shadow will contain your existing user's passwords, and overwriting it would cause those user passwords to be lost.

If you want to see which passwords have been added or changed, use a diff tool to compare /etc/shadow with /etc/shadow.rpmnew, and merge any differences for users you don't recognise.

You can do the same with the cups-browsed.conf file, just do a diff to see what's changed in the new one and incorporate it.

I cannot advise about the java .jar file, others may be able to chip in here. The new file is on and in use, the .rpmsave means it's renamed your old version so any local changes you have will not be lost.

edit flag offensive delete link more

Comments

thanks for explaining.
so these .rpmnew / rpmsave files gets handled via system itself? because i tried to access /etc/shadow.rpmnew right now to see the differences and i couldn't find it... there is no such file now. i didnt do anything, only booted again... ?

Deval gravatar imageDeval ( 2015-03-31 17:34:01 -0600 )edit

These are system config files, in this case user password files kept with the other config files in /etc. If you've manually edited a config file, the package manager (rpm) may either back up any existing config before replacing it by renaming the original to *.rpmsave or it installs the new one, but gives names it *.rpmnew. Normally you should be aware of what config changes you've made and keep an eye out for this kid of file appearing. If they're not there, then don't worry too much - it could have been misreported during install.

cobra gravatar imagecobra ( 2015-04-01 05:32:33 -0600 )edit

Question Tools

1 follower

Stats

Asked: 2015-03-31 05:48:28 -0600

Seen: 1,499 times

Last updated: Mar 31 '15